CISA certification information: Licensed Info Methods Auditor defined

The Licensed Info Methods Auditor (CISA) certification validates your data for info techniques auditing, assurance, management, safety, cybersecurity and governance. Providing by the Info Methods Audit and Management Affiliation (ISACA), the credential is designed for IT and IS auditors who’re tasked with evaluating a corporation’s info techniques to determine any points or potential safety threats. This globally acknowledged certification is among the few certifications particularly designed for IT auditors.

CISA certification necessities

To use for the CISA examination, you’ll want no less than 5 years {of professional} info techniques auditing, management or safety work expertise throughout the previous 10 years. You’ll be able to obtain a waiver for as much as three years of expertise when you have the next:

  • Most of 1 12 months of IS expertise or one 12 months of non-IS auditing expertise
  • The equal of a two- or four-year diploma, which might be substituted for one to 2 years of expertise
  • A bachelor’s diploma or grasp’s diploma from a college that teaches the ISACA-sponsored curriculum, which might be substituted for one 12 months of expertise
  • A grasp’s diploma in IS or IT from any accredited college, which is equal to 1 12 months of expertise

ISACA additionally presents exceptions for individuals who have spent two years as a full-time college teacher in a associated area, which might be substituted for one 12 months of expertise.

Alternatively, you may decide to take the examination earlier than you meet the necessities, and as soon as the necessities are met, you’ll be awarded the CISA designation. This can be a apply inspired by the ISACA, however you’ll want to finish the conditions inside 5 years after passing the examination.

The CISA examination

The CISA examination is graded on a scale of 200 to 800 factors. To move, you’ll have to earn a rating of 450 or increased. You can be given 4 hours to finish the 150-question multiple-choice examination, which covers 5 primary job apply areas in IS audit, management and safety:

  • Area 1: The method of auditing info techniques (21%)
  • Area 2: Governance and administration of IT (16%)
  • Area 3: Info techniques acquisition, improvement and implementation (18%)
  • Area 4: Info techniques operations, upkeep and repair administration (20%)
  • Area 5: Safety of knowledge belongings (25%)

CISA’s 5 domains

Area 1 covers the fundamentals of IT auditing, which incorporates executing risk-based IT audits of high-risk areas and making certain the technique is compliant with audit requirements. It additionally contains the right way to plan audits, conduct audits, talk audit outcomes and conduct follow-ups to see whether or not something must be adjusted.

Area 2 contains all of the steps of analysis IT auditors have to take to guarantee that “the necessary leadership and organizational structures and processes are in place to achieve objectives and to support the organization’s strategies and objectives,” in response to the ISACA. Duties embody evaluating IT methods, governance, organizational constructions, useful resource administration, portfolio administration, threat administration, management monitoring, reporting of KPIs and the group’s enterprise continuity plan.

Area Three includes all of the steps for the acquisition, improvement, testing and implementation of IT techniques to satisfy the group’s objectives. This contains evaluating proposed IT investments, contract administration processes, IT provider choice and challenge administration frameworks. This area additionally covers conducting opinions to make sure initiatives can be delivered on time, evaluating the readiness of IT techniques for implementation and conducting post-implementation opinions.

Area Four covers every thing you want to make sure that the processes for IT operations, upkeep and repair administration align with the corporate’s enterprise objectives. It includes evaluating IT administration frameworks and practices and making certain that the group is following established greatest practices. It additionally contains evaluating how IT operations, upkeep, knowledge high quality, database administration practices align with the enterprise’ technique and targets.  

Area 5 focuses on every thing associated to protecting the enterprise’ info belongings safe and confidential. This contains evaluating the IT safety and privateness coverage, requirements and procedures within the group and making certain the design, implementation, upkeep and monitoring and reporting of safety controls are efficient and ample.

CISA coaching

The ISACA presents a number of choices to organize your self for the CISA examination. You’ll be able to select from visible instructor-led coaching, on-line or on-demand evaluate programs, print or downloadable evaluate manuals, evaluate questions and entry to an solutions and rationalization database with a 12-month ISACA membership subscription.

You may as well select to attend a four-day in-person course hosted by the ISACA in several areas throughout the corporate. Alternatively, in case your group desires to certify a gaggle of staff directly, IT leaders can deliver the coaching on to the corporate.

If you wish to go a unique route, you can too discover programs and bootcamps supplied exterior the ISACA from third-party corporations resembling Infosec Institute, Studying Tree, Cybrary, Safe Ninja, Profession Academy, BSI group and others.

CISA examination and upkeep charges

There are discounted examination charges for ISACA members, however if you wish to move on a membership, you may decide to pay increased charges for certification exams and renewals. To start out, the examination requires a $50 utility price. As soon as your utility is accepted, ISACA members will pay $415 for early registration, whereas non-members might want to pay $545 for early registration. After the early-registration interval ends, the price goes as much as $465 for ISACA members and $595 for non-members.

To keep up your CISA certification, you’ll have to earn a minimal of 20 hours {of professional} training credit per 12 months and 120 hours each three years. You’ll additionally have to pay the annual upkeep price of $45 for ISACA members or $85 for non-members.

CISA wage

Certifications are nice for filling out your resume with extra expertise and demonstrating your {qualifications}, however they will additionally assist enhance your wage. In response to PayScale, the average salary for IT auditors with CISA certification is $99,000 per 12 months. To check, PayScale cites the typical wage for an IT auditor is $65,000 and $85,301 for a senior IT auditor.

This story, “CISA certification guide: Certified Information Systems Auditor explained” was initially revealed by


Source link

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker